One – One



Clint Dempsey gave the United States the equalizer against England.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images

It isn’t an American game and the United States is not predicted to go far; but today they held a highly favored English squad to a draw.

I took a walk today, along a street I walked over 59 years ago from my junior high school to a store where I used to bought my lunch; neither the store or the school still exist.  In place of the school is an athletic field dedicated to youth soccer and to add to my walk of  coincidences, I first learned of soccer on the school playground all those years ago.

A half mile away, as I was nearing the location of the store I passed a house with a party in progress; two sets of people where in evidence.  Fans of England and fans of USA, both wore team colors and costumers to show support for their teams.

It is difficult to believe that anyone on that street 50 years ago had even heard of the World Cup, much less gathered to follow a match and support their team.  It just may be that soccer is starting to catch-on, regardless of the opinion of sports talk show hosts.

0 Responses to “One – One”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

This is a personal blog and the information in articles posted here represents my personal views. It does not necessarily represent the views of people, institutions or organizations that I may or may not be related with, and is not sponsored or endorsed by them unless stated explicitly. Comments and other public postings are the sole responsibility of their authors, and I shall not take any responsibility and liability for any libel or litigation that results from information written in or as a direct result of information written in a comment. All trademarks, copyrights, and registered names used or cited by this website are the property of their respective owners. I am not responsible for the contents or the reliability of any articles excerpted herein or linked websites and do not necessarily endorse the views expressed within them. I cannot guarantee that these links will work all of the time and have no control over the availability of the linked pages.

Pages

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

