A Giant Victory the Day Before the Vote.


 

The Catch

Politics is not the only place that I have been stuck for decades, blindly following the path I have always followed.  Since 1954, I have been stuck with the San Fransisco’s professional baseball team, the Giants. The Giants did not even live in San Fransisco when I first started to declare my fanship, they were the cross town National League rivals of the hated American League Yankees and the equally hated, National League Bums – commonly called the Dodgers. Anyone who would root for either of those teams always seemed a bit strange, if not dangerous to me.

Like most people, I find myself jumping on band-wagons, far from an early adapter, I join after a clear winner has been establish, trying to pretend I knew all along who the real winner would be.  In 1954 I was in the sixth grade in Reno, my school brought a television into the auditorium – it also served as the gymnasium – and for one period a day students were allowed to watch the game – for most of us it was the only chance we had to see the games as very few of us had a television set at home.

Sitting in that gym, I saw Willie make that catch – or my memory says I did, but it has been known to lie about those things – I saw them win the series and as they won, I jumped on their bandwagon.  It did not shake my confidence when the moved across the country to live closer to me, in fact it felt like the right thing to do.  In all of the years since I have had years where I paid attention to baseball and the Giants and years where I knew nothing of any American sport.

Whenever I did tun into the sport, the Giants were my team, I disliked very much when they lost, but felt somehow elevated when they won.  The relationship of a fan to a team is indeed strange, there is no real connection – in the case of most fans – we don’t really know the players only their public persona, but we feel as if we do; they feel like friends and we often defend their actions just as if they were part of family or very close friends.  A new player, as soon as he puts on the uniform, is suddenly of us, and when he takes it off and dons another he is of them.

It has been a very long time that I have been riding that bandwagon, until just 56 years it was once again leading the parade once again.  But this time I really feel as if it is my bandwagon and anyone who has gotten on later than 1954 is just a joiner and not a true fan.  It has been a great baseball season and now I guess I will be content in the knowledge I really did know what I was doing when I followed Willie and the Giants around the diamond waving flags and cheering.  Is it spring training yet?

0 Responses to “A Giant Victory the Day Before the Vote.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

This is a personal blog and the information in articles posted here represents my personal views. It does not necessarily represent the views of people, institutions or organizations that I may or may not be related with, and is not sponsored or endorsed by them unless stated explicitly. Comments and other public postings are the sole responsibility of their authors, and I shall not take any responsibility and liability for any libel or litigation that results from information written in or as a direct result of information written in a comment. All trademarks, copyrights, and registered names used or cited by this website are the property of their respective owners. I am not responsible for the contents or the reliability of any articles excerpted herein or linked websites and do not necessarily endorse the views expressed within them. I cannot guarantee that these links will work all of the time and have no control over the availability of the linked pages.

Pages

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

