Who is in charge of this planet anyway?


 

  • Cuba Bautista Edit.jpg

    Juana Bautista de la Candelaria Rodriguez shows a civil registry document that states she was born on Feb. 2, 1885, during a party ahead of her 127th birthday, at her home near the neighborhood of Santa Rosa in Ceiba Hueca, where she was born in the Granma region of eastern Cuba, Wednesday, Feb.1, 2012. Bautista, who is also known as Candulia, was born Feb. 2, 1885 according to the civil registry, making her possibly the oldest person in the world.(AP Photo/Franklin Reyes) Fox News Latino

As much as I follow the news, there very few issues locally, nationally or internationally that I feel personally or that are emotional for me.  So for example, I don’t feel connected to the Japanese, Russian and German power issues; should there be more nuclear power, less nuclear power – it is an abstraction and academic to me.  I really don’t care one way or the other.  Why?  I think most of the really big issues in the world are out of the control of people; there is not anyway to change the course of some things.  Regardless of what we use to fuel our lives, what we eat or how many trees we might save by going paperless, do you really think the warming and cooling of the planet that has been effecting life on its surface for billions of years can be changed by us?  Oh, sure we might slow down the process, a bit, but change it?  I don’t think so.  The world we see and know today,  will disappear, the continents will form new patterns and even the air will change; the percentage of oxygen in the atmosphere will bring about new life forms and end others – this period is an epic, a period, an era and like all others and it will pass as they passed.

In our human society,  a minor subset of the various life forms on the planet, we have more impact, but still less than we think we have.  To me there are some forces driving human society that follow their own internal logic and are not subject to the opinions, needs, desires or control of individual (or groups of individuals) human beings.  Capitalism and technology are driving human society and it matters little whether it is right or wrong; it is above our moral values and it defies our control.  We don’t choose what will come next in technology, do we?  Did we vote for or in anyway choose to create iphones or did they simply grow organically out of the technology and our system of capitalism.  We are just spectators in this grand drama as we have always been; and increasingly I am aware that I am an old spectator and won’t live to see the end of any of today’s trends or learn who was right and who was wrong.

I listened to a report his morning on the increasing health cost for children.  The bottom line of the commentary was simple; the cost of treating childhood diseases is escalating dramatically and that has huge implications for the future of health costs; as it always costs more for old people than young people, a new base price is being established – a base from which we can predict costs in 50 or 60 years.  Everyone’s health costs begin to increase rapidly after the age of 65 – it is double the cost of health care for a 45-year old for example.  So when these 10-year old children in the health care system today hit 65 it will be an economic disaster.  Really?  Send me a post card.   I am going to be off doing something else.  As I don’t believe in reincarnation, I don’t think I will be worrying about heath care costs in 50 or 60 years – unless of course I am the oldest living person on the planet.

But even that could happen, I might live to be a hundred and thirty years old.  If I do, it will not be my choice.  It will be the result of improvements in medicine and medical treatment; in fact I am living today because of those improvements.  The treatment I got when I had blood clots in my lungs and the blood thinners I will take for the rest of my life are the reasons I am writing this today instead of pushing up daisies and preparing for the visits of my family on Memorial Day.   Now, mind you I was glad for both and eager to get out of the hospital, go for a run and take a woman out to dinner.  I was not ready to die, but it would not have mattered, even if I did not want to live, I would not have been able to choose.   It is not legal to opt out.  If they get me in the hospital, they can keep me and will keep me alive as long as they choose; or at least long as they are being paid to keep me alive.  It is a system and once you are in the system, you are in the system.

2 Responses to “Who is in charge of this planet anyway?”


  1. 1 Bill Hanigan May 22, 2012 at 3:18 am

    Nuclear Power offers a safe powerful energy source. More people die annually as a result of coal mining deaths than all the deaths due to nuclear fuel.
    We have the genetic knowledge to balance human health in birth subject to religious objections. Why for instance would a parent knowingly allow the birth of a abnormal human being ?
    Once that is resolved a potential large future potential medical problems are resolved.
    That’s a big future.

  2. 2 Ken Adams May 22, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Well, good luck on that one – with the right to live movement – every fertilized egg is a human and has the right to life – and therefore, as you point out, a lifetime of financial support.


Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

This is a personal blog and the information in articles posted here represents my personal views. It does not necessarily represent the views of people, institutions or organizations that I may or may not be related with, and is not sponsored or endorsed by them unless stated explicitly. Comments and other public postings are the sole responsibility of their authors, and I shall not take any responsibility and liability for any libel or litigation that results from information written in or as a direct result of information written in a comment. All trademarks, copyrights, and registered names used or cited by this website are the property of their respective owners. I am not responsible for the contents or the reliability of any articles excerpted herein or linked websites and do not necessarily endorse the views expressed within them. I cannot guarantee that these links will work all of the time and have no control over the availability of the linked pages.

Pages

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

